Matt Sutton dominates Lee County for Sprint Invaders win!

By Bill Wright
for the Sprint Invaders
DONNELLSON, Iowa (June 21, 2012) – It was a clean sweep for Matt Sutton of Macomb, Illinois Thursday night at the Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa.  He led every lap for his fourth career victory at the 3/8-mile oval in Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders competition. 

Sutton won his heat, then drew a starting spot outside of row one for the Dash.  He went on to win that, and drew a one for the feature, setting himself up on the pole.

Tyler Blank shot to the lead on the first try at a start, but it was called back when Matt Krieger tipped over.

Sutton protected the low side on the second attempt, and pulled away.  Things went green until a spin by Harold Pohren collected Jordan Goldesberry on lap six.  On the restart, Sutton led Blank, Tony Shilling, Russ Hall and Justin Parrish.

Shilling was able to move by Blank into second after the restart, and things stayed green until a Travis Porter spin with three laps to go.  Shilling tried to make a last dash move on the top of turns one and two, but spun his wheels.  Blank capitalized to follow Sutton home in second at the checkers.  Shilling settled for third, ahead of Hall and Parrish.

“What a night!” said Sutton in Victory Lane.  “Chris (McGraw) has the car working and we have a handle on these Super Shox now.  This was an exact copy of when we won here in 2006.  We knew there was rubber down in the Dash.  We didn’t change a thing all night.  I’m happy we didn’t squander this opportunity.”

“I wish that first start would have stuck,” said Blank of the initial start.  “We would have won the race.  We were fast all night.  We didn’t change anything but the right rear for the feature.  I’m glad (Shilling) made the move he did, but I would have done the same.”

“I knew that if I had to risk losing a spot to win it, I would do it,” said Shilling of his attempt at the lead after the restart.  “We were tightening the car up as the night went on.”

Following the top five were Ryan Jamison, Jerrod Hull, Ben Wagoner, hard charger Bobby Mincer and Andy Huston.  Blank, Jamison and Parrish joined Sutton as heat winners.  Mincer won the B main.

The Sprint Invaders travel to the 34 Raceway on Tuesday, July 3.  They will run their feature from April 14, as well as a full program that evening.  Don’t miss it!

Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders Main Event: 1. 3, Matt Sutton, Macomb, IL (1) 2. 75, Tyler Blank, California, MO (3) 3. 47T, Tony Shilling, Knoxville, IA (2) 4. 45c, Russ Hall, Pleasant Hill, IA (5) 5. 4J, Justin Parrish, Oquawka, IL (4) 6. 51J, Ryan Jamison, Mediapolis, IA (7) 7. 41, Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO (10) 8. 84, Ben Wagoner, Emden, IL (13) 9. 15, Bobby Mincer, Burlington, IA (17) 10. 40, Andy Huston, Roseville, IL (6) 11. 99, Jimmy Davies, Oquawka, IL (14) 12. 4, Jon Agan, Knoxville, IA (16) 13. 2, Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA (20) 14. 22, Bret Tripplett, Lincoln, IL (8) 15. 56, Matt Krieger, Burlington, IA (19) 16. 1st, John Greenwood, Woodward, IA (15) 17. 31P, Travis Porter, Rock Island, IL (11) 18. 14, Randy Martin, California, MO (12) 19. 50P, Harold Pohren, New London, IA (9) 20. 14P, Jordan Goldesberry, Springfield, IL (18). Lap Leader: Sutton 1-20. KSE Hard Charger: Mincer.

Advanced Plumbing & Mechanical Heat one (started), 8 laps: 1. Tyler Blank (3) 2. Russ Hall (7) 3. Harold Pohren (2) 4. Ben Wagoner (6) / 5. Bobby Mincer (8) 6. Jordan Goldesberry (4) 7. 10T, Tim Moore, Rock Island, IL (5) 8. 97, Carson McCarl, Altoona, IA (1)

Huston Land Improvement Heat two (started), 8 laps: 1. Matt Sutton (4) 2. Tony Shilling (5) 3. Jerrod Hull (3) 4. Jimmy Davies (1) / 5. 14s, John Schulz, West Burlington, IA (6) 6. 83, Dave Getchell, Sperry, IA (2) 7. 79, Destini Clark, Bolingbrook, IL (7)

CenPeCo Lubricants Heat three (started), 8 laps: 1. Justin Parrish (2) 2. Andy Huston (1) 3. Travis Porter (3) 4. John Greenwood (7) / 5. Matt Krieger (5) 6. 2x, Pat Moore, Moline, IL (4) 7. 40B, Daniel Bergquist, Burlington, IA (6)

Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Heat four (started), 8 laps: 1. Ryan Jamison (2) 2. Bret Tripplett (1) 3. Randy Martin (3) 4. Jon Agan (6) / 5. 88, Jarrod Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA (4) 6. Josh Schneiderman (7) 7. 44, Chris Martin, Ankeny, IA (5)

Budweiser “King of Beers” Super Shake-Up Dash (started), 6 laps; 1. Matt Sutton (2) 2. Tony Shilling (1) 3. Tyler Blank (6) 4. Justin Parrish (4) 5. Russ Hall (8) 6. Andy Huston (3) 7. Ryan Jamison (7) 8. Bret Tripplett (5)

Ideal Ready Mix B main (started), 12 laps: 1. Bobby Mincer (1) 2. Jordan Goldesberry (5) 3. Matt Krieger (3) 4. Josh Schneiderman (8) / 5. Tim Moore (7) 6. Carson McCarl (9) 7. Jarrod Schneiderman (4) 8. John Schulz (2) 9. Dave Getchell (6) 10. Chris Martin (11) 11. Destini Clark (10) DNS – Pat Moore, Daniel Bergquist

Weld – Jimmy Davies
SBI – Andy Huston
Saldana – Josh Schneiderman
Brake Man – Bret Tripplett

Leave a Reply