Sprint Invaders Return to the Pepsi Lee County Speedway

by Brian Neal

Donnellson, IA (Saturday, August 12, 2017) – The Pepsi Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa took a scheduled night off on Friday, August 11th, and now look to get back to racing action next Friday, August 18th. This night will bring the Shottenkirk.com Sprint Invaders back for the second and final time for 2017. The nights action is being presented by Midwest Performance & Power out of Keokuk, Iowa and KILJ Radio out of Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.


The Shottenkirk.com Sprint Invaders had 27 cars sign in on their first visit to the track back on Friday, May 26th, with Terry McCarl picking up the win. Jamie Ball currently holds a slim 6 point lead in the standings over Jon Agan. While Jarrod Schneiderman, Harold Pohren, and Ben Wagoner round out the top 5. Expect those drivers, along with Josh Schneiderman, Ryan Jamison, Tanner Gebhardt, John Greenwood, Nate VanHaaften, Cody Wehrle, Brayden Gaylord, John Schulz, Justin Buchholz, Rob Weuve, Dave Getchell, and many more to be in action on the night.


Also joining the Shottenkirk.com Sprint Invaders at the Pepsi Lee County Speedway on Friday, August 18th will be the Steffes UMP Pro Late Models, Budweiser IMCA Modifieds, Donnellson Tire & Service IMCA Stock Cars, Shottenkirk Parts Express IMCA SportMods, and the Armstrong Tractor IMCA Sport Compacts. As the chase for the 2017 track championships continue, with just two weeks of racing left to crown those champions.


Currently Denny Woodworth leads defending track champion Tommy Elston by 26 points in the Steffes UMP Pro Late Model standings, with Sam Halstead 45 points back in third, and Jeff Guengerich and Todd Frank rounding out the top 5. Dennis LeVeine sits a top the Budweiser IMCA Modified standings, with defending track champion Jeff Waterman 9 points back in second. Bill Roberts Jr. and rookie Modified driver Dakota Simmons are separated by 6 points in the battle for third, with Dean McGee rounding out the top 5.


The Donnellson Tire and Service IMCA Stock Cars will have a new champion crowned in 2017, as defending track champion Jeff Mueller moved out of the area and is not racing weekly at the Pepsi Lee County Speedway. John Oliver Jr., who finished second in 2016, currently leads Jeremy Pundt by 16 points, with Corey Strothman, Jason Cook, and Jason See finishing out the top 5. Tony Dunker doesn’t even have to race the final two nights, as he has an 85 point lead and has been crowned the 2017 champion in the Shottenkirk Parts Express IMCA SportMods. The battle for second, third and fourth is where it’s at, as John Oliver Jr. is 6 points ahead of Austen Becerra, with Brandon Dale 16 points back in fourth. Brandon Lennox rounds out the top 5. A new champion will be crowned in the Armstrong Tractor IMCA Sport Compacts, but the question is who will it be. Brandon Reu leads Barry Taft by 9 points, as both drivers look to win their first championship. Mike Reu is in third, but only 2 points ahead of Kimberly Abbott, who sits fourth. While Brandon Lambert is 11 points back in fifth, for that battle for third.


Gates will open at 5:30 PM, hot laps at 7 PM, and racing at 7:30 PM. Grandstand admission will be adults $15, seniors  (60+) $14, students (11-17) $8, and kids 10 & under FREE!! Pit passes are $30, age 7-13 $20, ages 4-6 $10, and ages 3 & under $3.


For more information about the Lee County Speedway you can visit their website page at www.leecountyspeedway.com, like them on Facebook, or call Mike Van Genderen at 641-521-0330.

Leave a Reply